Past/Present is a production of the Center for New American Media,
created in collaboration with Muzzy Lane Software.

The Center for New American Media is one of America's leading documentary production organizations. Founded in 1979 by Louis Alvarez and Andrew Kolker, CNAM films have usually been presented on public television and have twice been awarded the George Foster Peabody Journalism Award and the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Journalism Award. CNAM documentaries have studied social class (People Like Us), regional accents (American Tongues), politics (Vote for Me and Louisiana Boys), Little League baseball (Small Ball), motherhood (MOMS) and international relations (The Anti-Americans). Find out more at

The Center for New American Media
Executive Producers and Writers
Louis Alvarez
Andrew Kolker
Peter Odabashian

Muzzy Lane Software
Game Designers
Bert Snow
Jeremy Monken

Educational Advisor
Eva Abbamonte
The Horace Mann School

Additional Curriculum Writing
Ann Klimas
Karen Trott

History Advisors
Warren Goldstein
Alan Kraut
Maria Montoya
Jonathan Prude

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting
The National Endowment for the Humanities

Cynthia Char
Julie Friesner

Jessica Di Giovanni (Anna)
Sam Haft (Walter)
Yosefa Forma (Sophie)
Ian Temple (Hiram)

Andrew Clateman
Asher Suss
Bernardo Cubria
Erik Frandsen
Hilary Greer
Ian Temple
Laura Spaeth
Margaret Drake
Mary Murphy
Mike Pollack
Paul Belantoni
Seneca Burr
Shawn Curran

Interns and Assistants
Ben Serviss
Thomas Nikiper
Allen Menasco
Ben Feuerstein
Jackson Sharp
Maximilien Groult
Meera Pandit
Virginia Duke
Ini Udosen

Play Testers
Leo Alvarez
Isaac Alvarez
Alexander Fox
Andre Altherr
Rachel Bondy
Mia Bramel
Jack Tonra

Special Thanks
John Scheibel
Andy Hoffman
Lois Refkin
Lora Myers
Esther Cohen